Education, Ohio, Public Schools, Schools

The Lie/The Reply

mandy's blog

Remember when I worked very hard to get people to a Town Hall with Dennis Kucinich so he could talk about how charter schools receive unfair funding? The meeting was basically taken over by charter school proponents, most notably, those from the Constellation Schools. They all came in expecting the meeting to be about us trying to close all charter schools. That was not true, but it is what they were told. While I do not know for sure if parents of kids in the Elyria Constellation Schools were given a letter like the one that was given to parents in Parma,

I know for sure that there were many parents at our meeting and they were mad. The letter that was sent to the Parma parents was sent to them by Richard Lukich who helped found the schools and is president of the board of directors. This man, aside from being rude to me personally and blocking people from the info I had on a table while he stood at the door like he owned the place, sat in that meeting and said over and over again that charter schools have to adhere to the same accountability and transparency standards as public schools. He also said that everyone there was free to ask him anything that they want and he will tell us.

So I took him up on his offer. A few weeks later I sent him a public records request asking for a long list of information including salaries of staff (including his and the rest of the board), how much they send to their management company, how much money they spend on operational costs, and a few other things. This letter was mailed to him May 11th.

I just received a response from their lawyers this afternoon. In what should be a surprise to no one, they denied my request for information. The letter stated that the schools are not a public entity so they do not have to give me any of the information that I requested. They also stated that since there is no list of the salaries of those I requested, they do not have to give me those or create a list for me. And even if such a list did exist, they are under no obligation to give it to me even if Constellation was a public office.

I know what the treasurer of the Elyria City Schools (where my son attends school) makes but I have no idea what the treasurer of the Constellation School that is three blocks from my house makes. He was also at this meeting and was talking about how the Constellation Schools have nothing to hide.

So now I am just flummoxed. If the Constellation Schools, and Richard Lukich in particular, are such an open book, then why did he pass my letter off to his lawyers who subsequently denied my request? I am sure all of the people that followed him to that meeting would love to know the truth about what he said too. I know I would not be too happy if I found out that the schools I sent my son to were trying to hide something from the public.

Here is the reply:

let 1let 2

Standard

3 thoughts on “The Lie/The Reply

  1. D says:

    If this is out there for Lorain I am sure you can find it for the other schools. https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://www.ohioauditor.gov/auditsearch/Reports/2015/Constellation_Schools_Lorain_Community_Elementary_14_Lorain.pdf&ved=0ahUKEwiyhNiN5vTUAhXKdT4KHctXCFUQFgg7MAI&usg=AFQjCNE9FvHaAB1rK4bcPpuSUMo4utoZOg

    The town hall meetings didn’t offer any solutions, recommendations or advice for approaching representatives for a partnership in change to help all the kids get the education they deserve. Politics at it’s best…finger pointing with zero positive momentum towards anything that will rectify funding issues and make it fair for all sides.

    Like

    • Over time it has become clear in our district that the legal need to hold “public meetings” does not mean that the public voice will be either heard or respected. Public meetings typically mean that a legally required action is occurring before school invasions/takeovers and closures will be decisively instated.

      Like

Leave a Reply

